IRS Heavy Vehicle Use Tax:
Idaho State Tax Commission
Idaho Parks and Recreation:
Idaho Department of Transportation:
DMV Titles Unit:
Special Plates Unit:
One Stop Shop (Commercial/IRP):
MOTOR VEHICLE LICENSING
PO Box 57
Bonners Ferry, ID 83805
Fax (208) 267-1205
The Boundary County Motor Vehicle Licensing Department is located on the lower floor of the Boundary County Courthouse and is open to the public from 9 a.m. to 5 p.m. Monday through Friday. Pursuant to Idaho Code, the department is responsible for registering titles for cars, pickups, trucks, motorcycles (on and off road), ATVs, UTVs, motor homes, travel trailers, some utility trailers and most boats. Under Idaho law, the Idaho Transportation Department Division of Motor Vehicles can provide information from its motor vehicle and driving records to requestors for a fee with a signed request under Idaho Code 49-203.
As of July 1, 2009, per Idaho Code 49-401B (1), Idaho driver license or identification card numbers are required for all persons on titles and registrations. Businesses need EIN (Federal ID#). If driver license or identification is not from Idaho, then social security numbers are required.
The collection of One Person, One Record (OPOR) information is a requirement of law; for those titling and regisering their vehicles in our state, it is not an option. The following are excerpts from Idaho Code:
TITLE TRANSFER REQUIREMENTS
*Your own vehicle brought into Idaho from another state (title in your name): Vehicle Identification Number (VIN) Inspection: Available at Dyck's Auto Sales, (208) 267-2400; Cabinet Motors (208) 267-7573; Bear Mechanical (208) 267-5763; Circle B Trailer Sales, (208) 267-0704; Riverside Auto Center (208) 267-3100; or Clint Kimball Co. (Moose Valley), (208) 267-8981.
*Vehicle purchased from out of state private party: VIN inspection, title signed by titled owner, bill of sale from titled owner.
*Vehicle purchased from out of state dealer: VIN inspection, title or Manufacturer's Certificate of Origin (MCO), purchase agreement and odometer disclosure.
*Vehicle purchased from in-state private party: Title signed by titled owner, bill of sale from titled owner.
*Vehicle purchased from Idaho dealer: Pink copy of Application for Title (posted in rear window by dealer).
VIN Inspection: $5
Title Fee: $14
Sales tax/use tax 6% of purchase price (If dealer trade-in, subtract trade-in amount from purchase price to calculate taxable amount).
Utility trailers weighing 2,000 lbs. or less are not titled. Utility trailers weighing more than 2,000 lbs. are titled as above. All are registered, either for commercial or personal use.
For those having difficulty in obtaining an Idaho title, Idaho Department of Transportation Vehicle Investigator Pat Henderson comes to Bonners Ferry to provide assistance. She can be reached by calling (208) 772-1261. Her services are also required for those wishing to title a vehicle when that vehicle was created by combining the frame of one vehicle with the body of another; for home-built trailers weighing over 2,000 pounds.
Passenger Cars (gross vehicle weight to 8,000 lbs.):
(Includes license plates and registration for one year)
New to two years old: $66.25
Three to six years old: $53.25
Seven years and older: $40.25
Limited Trucks ("T" plates, weight from 8,001 to 60,000 lbs.):
Starts at $48.00 (8,001 to 16,000 lbs.; increases for higher weights) for full calendar year; registration pro-rated when issued for less than full calendar year.
Commercial Trucks (8,001 to 60,000 lbs.):
Starts at $48.00 (8,001 to 16,000 lbs.; increases for higher weights) for full calendar year; registration pro-rated when issued for less than full calendar year. Commercial Trucks over 60,000 lbs. and apportioned vehicles must be registered through One Stop Shop in Boise.
Utility & Boat Trailers, personal use:
One year: $12
Five years: $27
Ten years: $37
One year: $22
Motorhomes: Plate and registration same as passenger cars. RV sticker based on a percentage of current value or purchase price.
Travel Trailers (pull and fifth wheel): Plate and registration, $11. RV sticker based on current value or purchase price.
Pickup-mounted campers: Not titled but must have RV sticker based on current value or purchase price. Beginning January, 2009, new campers must be titled.
Motorcycles: Plate and registration: $23.25 for one year, $42.50 for two years.
Off-highway motorcycles, UTVs and ATVs: Titled same as passenger vehicles and $3 plate fee every seven years, off-highway sticker, $12 annually. Specialty off-highway vehicles are not titled, but can have off-highway stickers, $12.
Snowmobiles: Are titled and must be registered with resident or non-resident sticker; $32.50.
Boats: As of January 1, 2000, model year 2000 and newer non-exempt boats over 12 feet in length or with a permanently attached mode of propulsion (inboard, inboard/outboard, sailboats and jet skis) must be titled. Older non-exempt boats may be titled; once titled, each subsequent owner must title in their name. Exempt boats include but are not limited to rowboats, canoes, kayaks, inflatable vessels, rafts, barges and sailboards. To determine if a boat or vessel must be titled, contact the Motor Vehicle Department. Any boat with a motor (gas, diesel or electric), sailboats and jet skis must be registered. Registration fees are based on the length of the vessel and are pro-rated the first year registered in Idaho. Idaho Coast Guard numbers are issued to all new boats and boats brought in from other states.
ONLINE VEHICLE REGISTRATION
Vehicle owners now have the option of renewing their annual vehicle registrations on-line using a credit or debit card. There is a $1.00 plus a 3% convenience fee charged by the online service provider and owners will need to have their renewal notice in hand to obtain the website address and for vehicle-specific information. To find out more about this service, call the Boundary County Vehicle Licensing Office, (208) 267-7613.
Available for passenger cars, motorhomes, commercial and
noncommercial vehicles to 16,000 lbs. gross weight:
Wildlife (trout, bluebird and elk), Timber, Snowmobile and Ski: Normal registration fee plus $35 for first year and $25 each year thereafter.
Centennial: Normal registration fee plus $25 for first year and $25 each year thereafter.
Personalized license plates: Normal registration fee plus $25 for first year and $15 each year thereafter. Personalized plates also available for special plates with personalization fee added to special plate fee.
Also available: Disability plates and placards, Classic, Old Timer, Year of Manufacture, Veterans, Collegiate, Agriculture, Youth at Risk, Peace Officer Memorial, Corvette, Appaloosa, and more.